top of page

Royal's Redemption excerpt


“Finlay was a jerk to me then. Why am I hurt to realize that he hasn’t changed, Nana?”

Isobel’s flat lips thinned and her eyes looked sad. It was no wonder as she watched her grandchildren being pitted against each other whether they wished to be or not. Ainsley didn’t know how she withstood the agony and on top of it, Isobel was unable to shout at anyone. By the grace of the Lord, Ainsley wanted to rail at everyone, including her father.

“No matter what I do, Nana, our family is coming apart. If I allow Finlay to have the estate, everyone goes under. If I leave and give Hugh the chance to lead, I will have to face the unending question of my marriage’s viability.” Isobel raised her hand and flourished it to encompass everything around them. “It’s something I will have to face anyway. Yes, I’m sure you are right.” Sky put her paws onto Ainsley’s jean-clad thigh and flexed her nails before pulling her body up. She received a stroke on the head and she preened proudly.

“We only married to satisfy the will. Otherwise it wouldn’t have been necessary.”

Isobel frowned, her wrinkles gathering around her lips. Ainsley had to look away. She had never had trouble understanding her grandmother. It was a bond that had always been strong; today, it was too strong.

“Royal was gallant to offer, but since he proposed, I wonder if he was saving this damsel in distress.” Ainsley hated that her stomach dropped when she thought of all her doubts. Isobel rubbed her fingers together and Ainsley shook her head.

“If that was the problem, I would find it easier to fix. I pushed him to accept a settlement from me should we be unable to stay married for five years. He was angry with me for even suggesting it.” She looked at her grandmother and the older woman gave a small smile before she looked down at the kitten. Sky had curled up, Ainsley’s fingers stroking her fluffy, white fur.

“You should have seen his face when I told him that we wouldn’t have children in the five-year period. I wasn’t sure if I would ever see him again. Royal looked as if I had broken him in some way.” Tears pricked the corners of her eyes, making her steer clear of her grandmother’s expressive face. Nothing Ainsley had done in the name of this business arrangement disguised as a real marriage had been right. Even though she understood it to the depths of her soul, she couldn’t bring herself to correct it.

“It is too much pressure, Nana.”

A soft, weathered hand touched her head, sending the tears down her cheeks. Sky cracked a wary eye and then burrowed her nose beneath her paws. Ainsley found herself jealous at the kitten’s ease at simply living. What would it be like to be so free? It was painfully amusing how it took a trip home to make her realize that fifteen years of freedom had not been freedom at all. Inside she was tethered by the past and uncertain about the future. It was no way to live and she would have to challenge it before she could walk away.

“I’m afraid that I will never be enough for anyone, Nana.” She lifted her face to her grandmother and noted the tears there as well. “How do I change that?”

Isobel considered the question and slowly nodded her head once. She gestured to Ainsley’s hand, turning her palm over to invite her touch. A firm squeeze imparted strength and then Isobel twisted her granddaughter’s wedding ring. Blue eyes spoke volumes and Ainsley tried to digest it.

“Royal.”

Tags:

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page